About:

Someone is killing members of the old families…and the evidence points to Whyborne.

Widdershins has been unusually quiet for months. But now a mysterious creature from the Outside is on the loose, assassinating members of the town’s old families by draining their blood. Whyborne and Griffin set out to solve the mystery—but as the evidence piles up, the police begin to suspect Whyborne himself is the murderer.

Now Whyborne must both clear his name and stop the horrors the monster threatens to unleash. His only hope: an alliance with his old enemies the Endicotts.

Because something terrible lurks in the Draakenwood, and it will stop at nothing to seize control of the maelstrom itself.

Draakenwood is the ninth book in the Whyborne & Griffin series, where magic, mystery, and m/m romance collide with Victorian era America.


 

Review:

So, nine books… huh? Who would’ve thought. And it’s just as good as always. In this book we see a series of murders, and our heroes have to discover who is behind them. As per usual, it’s not easy, and as per usual, they discover something within themselves in the journey.

Over the years I have started different series by different authors. It happens that a lot of those times, I end up leaving the series behind because sometimes it feels like it’s dragging and that the story has hit its top, so it starts reading recycled, for a lack of a better word. It sometimes happens that the characters start feeling like completely different people from those they were when the story began, or they read as caricatures of the people they originally were, and it’s sometimes sad to read. For this reason, it always amazes me, when I pick up a new Whyborne & Griffin book, to see that this is one of those series that just keeps giving.

The characters, at their core, are the same people they were in the beginning. You can read their growth book after book, both as individuals and as a couple, but deep down they are the same people. You see the same incredible development in the rest of the cast. The secondary characters, and villains all have a backstory, all have come a long way to be a better (or worse, in the case of the bad guys) version of who they were. There is always a reason, and things don’t ever see to come out of nowhere, and I love this because it makes it more believable to me. It gives each one of the people in the story that edge of “so real” that I love so much in my books.

I found this particular installment more entertaining than the last one (Fallow). It totally sucked me in. I also thought that this book has a more intense gore element than some of the past books, and I loved it. The descriptions of the creepy things were amazing, and I could clearly see what was described in the book.

One of the things I love the most about Jordan L. Hawk’s characters is that they are never ever perfect. They are flawed. With them, nothing is black or white, there are always gray areas. She plays with the there’s good in the bad and bad in the good element. She gives the good ones a dark obscure element, and in a way, she gives the bad ones slight human elements. It’s interesting to see all of this playing in the pages.

Another thing I love about her books, and in particular, about this series, is the action scenes. Her brilliant descriptions capture not only every kick and spell, but the emotions going on as the fight takes place.

If you haven’t read this series I urge you to pick up the first book and start it right away. You’ll be taking a wonderful ride with two of the most amazing men you’ll meet in this genre. Whyborne and Griffin’s love story is something no one should miss. The love these two have for each other pulls you into the story. Their loyalty to each other is beautiful to read. They see each other. Like, literally, see each other. They see the good and the bad in the other and embrace it. They fight together, and they fight for each other every single day.

There are other fantastic characters in this series that you should not miss. Christine, for example, is one of the most complex characters I have ever read in M/M Romance. She’s a strong woman… Literally strong, like you don’t want to cross her because the girl can fight. She says what she thinks, and fights for what she wants. She stands strong in her beliefs, and doesn’t give in. She’s a wonderful friend to the other characters, and like a sister to Whyborne. There’s also Iskander – her husband. He’s another amazing secondary character. He’s loyal, and a fighter. His backstory and how it’s linked to his family that he found in Widdershins, make this even more interesting.

Then there’s Persephone – the twin. She’s as strong as Whyborne, and incredibly badass. She’s a leader. And Maggie. Maggie who I’ve been fond of from the very start of the series and that now, her story with Persephone has captivated me. (If you pick up this series do not miss Undertow, which is a short F/F story about Persephone and Maggie, and it really is important to read it before you get to Draakenwood).

For as much as I loved this book, I do think that sometimes the actions of the characters are predictable. While this doesn’t particularly bother me, I do wish that I could be taken by surprise more often. I wonder if this of being able to predict what will happen is because I know the characters well by now? Maybe. Anyway, this would be my only “complaint” –  which isn’t really a complaint, but you get the idea.

I really can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I expect a lot of amazing things from it, especially for what I suspect will be the setting of it. I can’t wait to see the Edincott’s again – I hated the last two Edincotts, but I really, really, liked these two.

So yes. Go read. Enjoy the love, the monsters, the happiness, the dispair, the frustration, the victory, and everything that comes with this series. You won’t regret it!


 

Purchase Links:

Amazon

One thought on “Review: “Draakenwood” (W&G 9) by Jordan L. Hawk

  1. I rarely read historical fiction, but I’m all for expanding my reading horizons. I’ll definitely have to check this series out further. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. Thank you for introducing it to me, and thanks for a great review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

